Login
Now Free Shipping For Orders $50+ Phone 512-253-0100  

Fiberside Chats - Kate Atherley, Sunday, October 18 - CLOSED

By Fiberside Chats

$ 20.00
- +

This is a one-time live Zoom event on Sunday October 18th: 3PM Eastern, 2PM Central, 1PM Mountain, 12PM Pacific.

Join us as we welcome Kate Atherley to Fiberside Chats for a personal tour of her latest book, Custom Shawls for the Curious and Creative Knitter.  Her newly released book takes a deep dive into the world of shawl knitting. Kate will guide us through the wealth of information found in this book including 13 great designs to knit, recipes for more than 20 shawls shapes, chapters on designing shawls and working with different yarns and colors, pattern stitches to make your own custom pieces and last but not least, helpful tutorials on a multitude of key techniques.  This is a must have resource for anyone who loves to knit, modify and design shawls!

For some hands-on practice Kate will also provide a mini lesson on the often-troublesome garter tab, and share some of her favourite techniques for stretchy bind offs.  Bring your sticks and appropriate weight yarn and knit along with Kate during this mini lesson!

Let this hour with Kate help inspire your next shawl knitting adventure!

BIO: KATE ATHERLEY is an internationally known knitting teacher, designer, author and editor. She has published eight books, with a ninth just published, and her focus in all her work is the empowerment of knitters, illuminating both the methods and mechanics of the craft. The combination of her university degree in mathematics, professional experience in software development, technical writing and usability, and training in garment and fashion design give her a unique perspective. She also works as an editor and technical editor, helping other designers and authors bring their work into the world. She lives in Toronto with her husband and the family of skunks under their porch.

www.kateatherley.com

How it works:

Register to attend this Fiberside Chats on our website. You will receive a zoom link to join the chat the evening before the event begins and a reminder email 1 hour before the event start-time. Fiber chats last approximately 1 hour each.

Note: Registration closes 8 hrs before the event. If you register the same day, you will receive your link just before the event begins so be sure to check your email and contact us if you haven't gotten the invite within an hour of the event.

Cancellations: 

Please note that Fiberside Chats are non-refundable so double check you will be able to attend before registering for a chat.

Fiberside Chats are one-time zoom events held every week or two with some of the top designers, dyers and other creators throughout the fiberworld! Hear about each person's creative process, latest projects and inspirations. Each session will have time for Q&A, feature giveaways and other fun surprises. 

See more: Events
Scroll to top